Pk Blogger

Your Home on Internet

What is Veto power

What basically a veto power means?

It is actually the power assigned in one division of a government to withdraw or suspend the decisions, presentations, etc., of another branch, particularly the right of a president, governor, or other chief executives that can reject bills which are approved by the assembly.

Working of Veto Power

If the Congress overrules the veto by a ratio of two-thirds vote in each house, it converts into law without the President’s signature. Or else, the bill fails to become law unless it is made accessible to the President again and the President chooses to sign it. If we look back into history, we will see that the Congress overrides the Presidential veto 7% of the phase.

Types of Veto Power

The Constitution offers the President 10 days (excluding Sundays) to take some action on legislation or the legislation automatically becomes law.

There are two types of vetoes: the “regular veto” and the “pocket veto.” The pocket veto is defined as an absolute veto that cannot be overridden. The veto becomes operative when the President fails to sign a bill after Congress has postponed and is incapable to override the veto. 

  The regular veto is a competent negative veto. The President is then responsible to return the legislation that remains unsigned towards the making house of Congress in a 10 day period typically with a memorandum of disapproval or all along with a “veto message.” 

Which State Constitutes Veto Power?

Power of veto is specified to the United Nations Security Council that also refers to the veto power. It is used merely by the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council namely China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, and the United States. Veto power also enables them to avoid the implementation of any substantive resolution.